A Strange Thing happened to me this morning…

So, this morning I woke up with a completely round face.  As in, I had gained two rather large and quite unfetching swellings on either side of my jaw, just below my ears.  I had, in fact, woken during the night and noticed that my face felt strange, but I decided I’d just have to worry about it in the morning.

And then, I woke up looking like the Woman in the Moon.

Besides this, I feel fine – I have no pain, normal energy levels, and everything else – but it’s still a little bit disconcerting to look in the mirror and have another person’s face look back at you.  Of course, the writer in me thrilled a little at this idea, but the human being in me looked and said ‘Uh-oh – time to get thee to a medical professional’.  So, that’s the plan for today.  I’m going to have a cup of tea (because there’s nothing like tea for making the whole world seem brighter), and hotfoot it down to the chemist (pharmacist, apothecary, drugstore, whatever you’re having yourself) as soon as it opens.

I don’t know if sudden facial swelling can be brought on by finishing your major rewrites and also hitting your word target all in one day, as was the case yesterday, but I do think maybe I’m being told to take it easy.  Something says I will be on bed-rest, with my copy of ‘The Daylight Gate’, until further notice!  I hope you’re all in the pink, and that your Tuesday is the best Tuesday it can possibly be.  I’ll keep you updated on my moon-faced progress.

P.S. If anyone has any ideas about what could be afflicting me, let’s be having ’em!

2 thoughts on “A Strange Thing happened to me this morning…

  1. Gretta

    Sounds like an allergic reaction to something/someone. Having been the “proud” owner of a tight-skinned moon face some years back, which lasted for a couple of days, you have my sympathy. In my case it was an allergic reaction and so it departed without leaving any longterm sequelae.

    Reply

Talk to me

