Appreciating Happiness

I recently found myself unable to relax long enough to enjoy and fully appreciate a situation in which I was entirely, completely and unarguably happy.  I didn’t have anywhere else to be; I had no other calls on my time.  Still, I found myself mentally hurrying through this happy experience because, for some reason, I felt pressured to move on to the next thing, to keep going and doing and working… It was only last night, as I was falling asleep, that I realised how silly this was – possibly because of my blog post yesterday, in which I talked about making time for your important people, no matter how vital your work is.

I suppose, then, that this post is in some ways a continuation of yesterday’s thought: I’m going to make a better effort not to be too busy to appreciate joy, from now on.  It’s not an easy thing to do – I think most people resemble the example I gave above, only realising the happiness they missed out on, through their own silliness, after it’s all over.  For me, I guess it has a lot to do with my ‘old’ life, wherein I had no time for things like sitting around thinking about joy and how best to appreciate it; my brain power was used up on far more important things, or so I thought at the time.  My brain is still geared towards the constant drive forward, the go, go, go!, and it’s taking its time to calm down and realise that the focus of my life and my time has changed, and I’m now able to invest in my happiness and the happiness of my husband and family.  This is a huge blessing and something for which I’m very grateful.  I just need to get my brain to sit still long enough to appreciate it!

Even if you’re not a person of any particular faith, I think it’s still a good thing to pause and be thankful every so often during the day.  Being thankful for something makes you appreciate it – it makes you think about that something from all angles and really enjoy it.  I don’t want to be the person who is so used to everything in their lives being good that they stop understanding how lucky and privileged they are.  Even though I’m not rich, or what the world would consider successful, I have so much beauty in my life that I can barely think about it all.  So – there it is.  I know it’s September, but I think I finally found my New Year’s Resolution!  I resolve to appreciate all the wonders in my life – the opportunity to write, of course, being foremost among them, but having my healthy, happy and loving family is right up there, too.  Really though, in every second that passes, there are hundreds of things to be thankful for.  I live a life of abundance, and I am very grateful for it.

Now, before I dissolve completely into a giant-sized pool of treacle, I’d better sign off.  Have an abundant and happy day!

5 thoughts on “Appreciating Happiness

    1. SJ O'Hart Post author

      Great minds think alike, I guess! Thanks for the recommendation. Hope your happiness project bears fruit for you – looking forward to finding out how it goes. 🙂

      Reply
  1. Mrs. F

    Me too – let you know when I start – needs a lot of forethought. Which I would imagine means alot of tea. What goes really well with tea? Cackling with friends. That’s happiness often unappreciated. I’m off to pop on the kettle….

    Reply

Talk to me

