Written in Haste*

I don’t have a lot of time to write today – ‘real’ life is interposing, and making my blogging life difficult.  It might be just as well, however.  I was browsing another blog last night – it was late, and I was unable to sleep, and there’s just so many interesting things to read – and that blog discussed the importance of not blogging.  What they meant was, it’s good for a blogger, and their readers, to have a few days off every so often.  They also mentioned the importance of not expounding at length, day after day – I know I’m guilty of that!  I never yet met a word I didn’t like, and I like to use them all.  So, today I will keep things brief, and I beg your indulgence.

The biggest thing on my mind this morning is the idea of constructive criticism.  I’ve been privileged enough to receive feedback on my current piece from three of my most trusted readers, and they’ve each given me valuable insight into where I’m going wrong with my writing.  For instance, I’m trying to ration my comma usage.  Already in this very blog post I’ve taken out three or four – honest!  I’ve listened – despite how hard it was to do it – to explanations as to why certain aspects of the beginning of my WiP don’t gel.  The last thing I want to do is confuse a reader, so feedback like this is vital.

But – it has been so challenging.  Creative work – of any sort – comes from the heart, and hearing criticism of it feels like a blow to the heart.  At least, it does to me.  It’s hard to keep in mind that your trusted first readers just want to help, and while they might be drawing attention to shortcomings in your work, they don’t mean that you, personally suffer from shortcomings.  Perhaps this is perfectly clear to everyone else in the world, and it’s just me who thinks like this!  It wouldn’t surprise me.

In any case, I must dash.  Thank you for your indulgence, and I hope lovely days and creative breakthroughs are had by all.

*I also hope my dear friend Claire won’t mind that I ‘borrowed’ her blog title for this post title!

2 thoughts on “Written in Haste*

  1. diannegray

    It’s good to have a balance in blogging. I only blog twice a week and I like it like that 😀

    Don’t worry about the constructive criticism – it’s best to put it aside for a day or two, think about it a bit and then do with it what you will. Just remember, people are trying to help but this can come off sometimes like they’re actually criticizing – but it’s great in the long run to have help like this 😀 And remember, you don’t have to do everything they say because it’s your work and if you like it like that, leave it like that 🙂

    Reply
    1. SJ O'Hart Post author

      Thanks, Dianne. It’s funny how the criticism seems so useful, so helpful and so great – the day after you first receive it! 😀 My poor artistic soul can only take so much at one time. 😉 Thanks, as ever, for your valued input and encouragement. x

      Reply

Talk to me

