Sniffles on a Cold, Cold Day

Hello! *cof*

I’ve been wiped out with illness for the last few days – I’ve been coughing, sneezing, wheezing, feeling sorry for myself and grouching a lot since Friday, and I haven’t had the energy to even think about writing a blog post. To be honest, I don’t really have the energy to think about it now, either, but I just wanted to check in with everyone and say ‘hey – I’m still here! Just about.’

It’s what I deserve for crowing last week about how I was ahead of schedule with the WiP, I guess. Pride comes before a fall, and all that! There are one or two small things I want to change before I get it printed up for its final revision, but I don’t think I’ll be doing those changes today. Well, this is assuming I can keep myself away from the keyboard – something tells me the edits will be like spoiled brats all day, kicking at the back of my brain and whingeing about how they never get what they want, until I give in and just do them. In my medicinal haze this weekend, too, I found myself having some ideas about the sequel I’d like to write to this current WiP, and the first line of an entirely new story scribbled itself across my brain, entirely unbidden, just when I had nothing in reach with which to make a note of it. I wrote down as much of it as I could remember as soon as I managed to struggle towards a pen and paper, but something tells me it’s lacking the same sparkling intrigue as the words my germ-addled brain supplied me with. Hopefully, I’ll get back to it, one of these decades.

This weekend, I finally got to watch some episodes of one of the most iconic TV shows ever made, and one which I’ve wanted to check out for some time. It was an unintended consequence of our attempts to start our Christmas shopping, which we did on Saturday. We weren’t very successful, mainly because I was delirious with fever, and couldn’t think straight due to the stupidly loud thumping music being played everywhere, but we did manage to pick up a box set of ‘The Wire’. I realise we’re about a decade behind the times with this one, but better late than never! It is just as good as everyone told me, but extremely different from what I’d expected. I suppose when you’re used to watching shows like ‘Law and Order’, cop dramas where the entire story arc, from crime to investigation to court appearance to sentencing all happens in one episode, a show like ‘The Wire’ seems almost soporific. I’m looking forward to learning from the show, though, as I’m sure it has lessons to impart about storytelling and maintenance of audience interest in characters and plot. Plus, one of the episodes we watched last night showed two of the officers examining a crime scene using only expletives to communicate with each other. It was, I have to admit, hilarious.

The Wire TV show McNulty looking out of car window

In other news – it’s an utterly freezing, completely miserable day here. My husband just phoned to tell me he’s stuck in the longest traffic tailback he’s ever seen, and the news is full of reports about flooding, impassable roads, and terrible conditions. I suppose life could be worse, then, than having to wrap up warm and keep myself stocked with Lemsip. You’re never completely ‘switched off’ when you’re trying to write or finish a book, really, and I’m sure I’ll spend most of my day with my head in my WiP, trying to tweak it until I just can’t tweak any more. I am grateful, though, for the fact that I can do this without having to face the Arctic outdoors!

I hope you’re all having a wonderful start to the week, and that you’re all in good health. Good luck with whatever it is you find yourself doing today!

2 thoughts on “Sniffles on a Cold, Cold Day

  1. aanderand

    I hate it when I get an idea flash and have nothing to write with and, like you said, the recalled thought is never quite as a stroke of genius as the freshly spawned one. One of the NaNo writers always carries a small recorder with her, for just such things but it has turned into her writing on the go thing for NaNo. I think I might start start doing such a thing. I can use the cell phone but too fiddley to make it work. I want to flip a switch and talk.
    When it was showing, ‘The Wire’ was positively addicting, but it was so raw it was something of an approach/avoidance experience for me. I have watched reruns of various seasons but I have never thought to watch it from a writers stand point. If nothing else, it was well written so I’m sure there is much to be learned looking at it from that standpoint. ‘Deconstructing The Wire’ would be an awesome writers workshop topic.
    I’m sorry you are not feeling well. Hope you get to feeling better soon. It is freezing here in Georgia, 29F yesterday for the low barely broke 40F in the afternoon. Supposed to be warmer today but I am holed up doing the last push on NaNoWriMo.

    Reply
    1. SJ O'Hart Post author

      Freezing again today here, and am still snuffling. My chest is making that ‘crackly’ noise which always indicates something amiss is going on, but I feel much better now than I did a few days ago. Thank God for self-medication! 🙂

      We’re really enjoying ‘The Wire’, though we’re going through it very slowly. I think ‘Deconstructing the Wire’ sounds like a great plan! I’m not sure I have the necessary qualifications to run such a course, though…

      Reply

Talk to me

