Sunny Saturday

I won’t detain you for very long today, as I hope you all have better things to be doing on a Saturday than reading a blog post. If you don’t have anything better to be doing, then go and find something better to do! Perhaps you could dance around a bit:

This guy = hero.Image: beforebigs.com

This guy = hero.
Image: beforebigs.com

Or maybe you’d prefer to read a funny book:

Image: 123rf.com

Image: 123rf.com

Or (best of all), maybe you could find someone to go for a walk with, or just even snuggle up to:

Isn't this lovely?Image: fineartamerica.com

Isn’t this lovely?
Image: fineartamerica.com

I’ve just been out for a wonderfully long walk myself, where I did a lot of thinking and quite a bit of rocking out (thank goodness for phones that are ‘smart’ enough to pick up a decent radio station!), and I’m back behind my desk now to get stuck into the last few chapters of ‘Eldritch’. It has been an easy and enjoyable write so far, but I know I have some work to do, particularly with tightening up my narrative voice. The commenters on http://www.authonomy.com have been very helpful, but I’ve been getting brilliant feedback from a few friends too, all of which will go towards making the story better. Keep an eye on the Authonomy site over the next week, if you’ve been following the ‘Eldritch’ story – I’ll be posting up some redrafts there soon.

Today is such a beautiful day here in my corner of Ireland – it’s bright, sunny and crisp. It’s like the whole world has taken a deep breath after the oppressive, dark, rainy weather we’ve had over the last few weeks. I’ve thrown open all my windows, and I’m buzzing with energy and determination to see ‘Eldritch’ through to the finish line. Hopefully it’ll be today. Wish me luck!

And have a beautiful Saturday, whatever you’re doing. I’m sending you a little bit of sunshine!

Image: cauldronsandcupcakes.com

Image: cauldronsandcupcakes.com

9 thoughts on “Sunny Saturday

  1. aanderand

    Clear and cold here in Atlanta this morning, it was 24F when I got up. The sun is streaming in my bedroom window and it is really brightening my mood, which has been something of a downer lately. Maybe, I can get some writing done today or, if not, then some reading. I started Eldritch the other day but the site seems to be not always up from here. I will try it again later after breakfast. Good luck with getting Eldritch to the finish line.

    Reply
    1. SJ O'Hart Post author

      Thanks, Rand! Just managed to finish the first draft at about 54K words. It seems ridiculously short, but that’s what they’re saying kids’ books should be, so…

      I think Authonomy was down for a while the other night but hopefully you’ll be able to get back into it soon. I’d love to know what you think of what I’ve done. Well, I’ll be changing it around a bit in the next while so maybe hang on for New Improved Draft 2! 🙂

      Reply
  2. Maurice A. Barry

    Didn’t make it to Newfoundland. Snowing here, but got out for a nice walk before it got too bad. Noticed aanderand’s comment–didn’t know it ever got that cold in Atlanta :>) that’s about what it is here!

    Reply
    1. SJ O'Hart Post author

      I don’t understand Fahrenheit. It’s about 5 degrees Celsius here! I’ve no idea what that is in your pesky North American temperatures.

      Glad to know you enjoyed a walk, too. There’s nothing better. 🙂

      Reply
      1. SJ O'Hart Post author

        Thank goodness you’re a civilised society! 🙂

        And, wow. If it was -5 here, with 20cm of snow, the army would be called in and it would be deemed a National Emergency. 🙂

    1. SJ O'Hart Post author

      Thank you very much indeed. I shall answer all your fiendish questions later in the week. Meanwhile, I am away! *swishes cloak mysteriously* 🙂

      Reply

Talk to me

