Marathon Monday

Morning, all.

Today is a Bank Holiday in lovely Ireland, and I’m just popping in to say that I’m off doing this:

'Hello, Mum!' Image: irishheart.ie

‘Hello, Mum!’
Image: irishheart.ie

As a result, I won’t be able to do a proper blog today.

The Flora Women’s Mini Marathon, for that is the event being depicted above, is a wonderful endeavour; upwards of 50,000 women take part every year, raising plenty of money for charity and also testing their stamina, resolve and determination.

I’m just hoping I survive it.

It’s my first time to try it, and I’m definitely a walker, not a runner. I’m not doing it for sponsorship this year, just in case I make a mess of the whole thing and end up collapsing in a heap halfway through. If this year doesn’t turn out to be a fiasco, then next year I’ll do it again and earn all the money for all the charities, like a huge fundraising android.

Anyway, I must be off. My trainers are laced, my heart-rate is up, my muscles are warmed, and my water bottle runneth over. And, if you never hear from me again, you’ll know what happened. Send word to my folks and tell ’em I love ’em, won’t you?

Wish me luck!

11 thoughts on “Marathon Monday

  1. Kate Curtis

    Good luck! I’ve just read your comment on my blog about how accident prone you are. Should someone be calling your parents now? 😀

    Have a great walk and a great day!

    Reply
    1. SJ O'Hart Post author

      Haha, yes, you see… that is yet *another* reason why this may not have been such a good idea! 😀

      Just pray I don’t fall down a hole or go the wrong way and end up walking over the end of a pier or something equally ridiculous. I can see it happening! 🙂

      Reply
  2. patrickprinsloo

    Well, good luck, then. Try a mustard bath for your feet post the event. I have no idea whether or not it can do anything for you, but the thought popped into my head and there you have it.
    Enjoy it.

    Reply
    1. SJ O'Hart Post author

      😀

      I’d think a mustard bath prior to the event would be more useful; it might toughen up my poor tootsies! Afterwards, I reckon sticking my feet into mustard would result in my instant self-propulsion to the moon.

      But – of course – thank you for your good luck and your advice. I appreciate both! 🙂

      Reply
  3. Alison Mccann

    Best of luck Sinead. You’ll cross that finish line in style, as you always do my dear. Welll, you better cause among many other great things about you, I’d miss the blog. Go girl. … !!

    Reply
  4. susanlanigan

    Is Headway the mental health charity? That would be a wonderful cause to work for. Well done Sinead and watch out for the sunburn! Looking forward to hearing how you get on. My sister is running the Cork one today too.

    Reply
    1. SJ O'Hart Post author

      I think Headway is for acquired brain injury and Headstrong is the mental health charity, but I’d happily support either/both.

      I’m back! I didn’t expire! And (I hope!) I didn’t get sunburnt… 😀 Hope your sister had a good race experience, too.

      Reply
  5. Pingback: My first Mini Marathon Experience | lovelifeandhappyeverafter

Talk to me

