Showered with Liebster-ness

So.

I was all set to yak on about independence referenda (go Scotland! ahem) and/or newly-diagnosed dairy intolerances and how dang hard they make everything and how I’m now basically vegan against my will, but luckily (for y’all) none of that is now necessary.

The reason?

Well. I’ve been and gone and got myself Liebstered again, haven’t I.

Photo Credit: foxypar4 via Compfight cc

Photo Credit: foxypar4 via Compfight cc

This morning I awoke to find that the fabulous izaezel of the teen vernacular had nominated me for my second Liebster award this year. She said, and I quote: ‘Your blog [meaning my blog, just so we’re clear] is amazing!’, which basically meant my day began with a bang – which is always the best way to begin a day, of course. You can zoom on over to her blog to find out her answers to questions such as ‘If money was no object, what would you do all day?’ and ‘If you could be any fictional character, who would you choose?’ – incidentally, pretty much exactly the same answers I’d have given.

There’s clearly a reason why we follow one another’s blogs, right?

Anyway.

In bold, below, are the questions izaezel asked of her Liebster nominees, and which I’ve done my best to answer in suitable style. Onward!

If you were given the choice, which fictional world would you live in?

Argh. This was a really hard question, because there are so many. The Shire, obviously, has to be up there, along with Narnia and Earthsea and Westeros (well, bits of it at least. I reckon, if I could pass as a man and/or break down gender inequality by forcing them to accept me, femininity and all, I’d take the black and join the Night’s Watch. I’m not sure why, but it appeals to me somehow). I also really really want to live in the world of Star Trek, just because it seems so civilized and balanced and perfect – and I so want to be in Starfleet, despite not having any marketable skills in any field that would make me useful. I also have a major crush on the world of Eretz, but I’m not sure I’m graceful enough for it.

So. After all that, I reckon I’ll plump for the world of Sylver, as described in Tone Almhjell’s The Twistrose Key. Snow, and furry creatures, and hot chocolate, and cosy fires, and waterfalls, and stuff? Oui, merci. One of the things I loved about this world was how it was described as a snowy landscape, but not because it was under a terrible spell or anything like that – it just was what it was, which was beautiful. So, yep. Sylver. I hope my long-lost puppies, Pepper and Jake, will be there waiting for me. (Read the book to find out why, or you can check out my review of the book here).

What was the last book you read?

The last book I read was The Dangerous Discoveries of Gully Potchard, by Julia Lee. Before that it was A Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin (yes, I’m late to the party). Before that, it was White Feathers by Susan Lanigan. And I’m currently reading Burial Rites by Hannah Kent.

Phew.

How many sugars do you take in your tea/coffee/hot chocolate?

None! I’m a sugar-free zone. I can’t drink hot chocolate any more (due to being dairy intolerant, le sob, which I may have mentioned already). I’m pretty sure there’s a soy equivalent – there’s a soy equivalent for everything – but I’m equally sure it will taste vile. So. I shall just do without.

Do you have any weird talents?

I used to be able to wiggle my ears, so much so that my glasses would shift up and down on my nose, much to the amusement of my classmates at school. However, it’s been a long time since I was at school. I haven’t tested this talent in many years, so I may well have lost it. I can also drop my voice into a really deep, creepy-sounding pitch which my husband says reminds him of a demon; I like to do it when he least expects it. Keeps things interesting, y’know?

What would be your last meal?

My last meal would probably have to be the biggest, cheesiest (vegetarian, naturally) lasagne in the world. I could quite happily burp my way into eternity if I had the chance to tuck into one of those bad boys, just one last time…

*weeps*

Honestly. I’m fine with being dairy intolerant. Really.

Would you rather have chocolate eclairs for fingers or brownies for toes? (They regenerate)

My favourite part about this question is the stipulation that they regenerate…

Anyway. I hate chocolate eclairs, and so I’ll go for brownie-toes. It means that when I’m invited to parties I don’t need to bake anything – I’ll just swing my feet up on the table and let people nibble away. Sweet!

If you could go back in time and talk to anyone, who would it be and why?

Excellent question.

There are so many people I’d love to talk to. Marie de France is definitely one, as is Julian of Norwich and Margery Kempe and Geoffrey Chaucer (you’re seeing a pattern here, yeah?), as well as Queen Elizabeth I and Shakespeare and Charles Stewart Parnell (just to assure him he’d be remembered with fondness by his country, one day). I’d love to meet Lord Byron and Emily Dickinson and Mary Wollstonecraft and Mary Shelley and Ada Lovelace and Madame Curie (preferably before all the radiation-stuff) and Flannery O’Connor.

But the one ‘person’ I’d really love to talk to isn’t really a person – she’s a character in a poem. Her name is Wealtheow, and she’s the wife of king Hrothgar in the English epic Beowulf. Her name – despite the fact that she’s the queen – means ‘foreign servant’, and her main role in the poem is pouring drink in her husband’s hall, acting as a ‘peace-weaver’ between tribes, and making a speech which is entirely ignored by the men. Being a ‘peace-weaver’ (a woman of one tribe married to a man of another in an attempt to end a feud between them) was an important role, in some ways, but I’d love to know what Wealtheow thought of her life and her role in her world. She might be fictional, but she represented real women. I’d love to talk to one of them, because their perspective on history and their world has been totally ignored.

What is your favourite song right now?

Gah. Right now? The first to come to mind – which means it’s high up on my favourites list – is Just One of the Guys by Jenny Lewis. It makes me really sad, but it’s a great tune.

What are your surroundings as you’re reading this?

Mess. I’m at my desk in my office, and there are books everywhere. Outside the window is my garden, and then a row of trees, and the supermarket across the road.

If you had to live in a different country, where would you go and why?

There are so many places I’d love to live. New Zealand is one. Tasmania’s another. I’d love to live in Paris, but I will never be able to afford it. But, in truth, my heart lies in the north. I’d love to live in any of the Scandinavian countries – my preference is Norway, for reasons even I can’t explain to myself – or Iceland. I’d also love to visit Greenland one day. I’m not sure I could live there, but I’d love to see it.

It’s weird. I’ve just realised I’d love to live in the one part of the world where a vegan diet would render me dead within days. I’m a complicated little person.

What was the highlight of your day today?

Well, it’s only 08:06 a.m. where I am, so I haven’t had a lot of ‘day’ to have a highlight in, yet. Waking up alive is about as much as I can be thankful for, so far. In the last twenty-four hours, though, my husband came home after having been away for several days, so that was a pretty big highlight. Can we use that? Okay, good.

Here endeth my answers to the questions, and I hope they’ve been satisfactory.

Because I’ve already been Liebstered, and I nominated people for it then, (and I also don’t like nominating people for stuff, because pressure), I’m a bit loath to point to people in particular to take up the Liebster baton. So, instead, can I nominate anyone who wants to take it up? Link back to me if you feel like taking part. Kate? Claire? Susan? Maurice? Emily? Any interest? No pressure!

My questions:

Photo Credit: jamuraa via Compfight cc

Photo Credit: jamuraa via Compfight cc

If you could be any ANIMAL from a piece of fiction (i.e. book, play, TV show, movie), which would you be and why?

What is your favourite letter of the alphabet, and why? (Bonus points for not sticking to boring old English for this one!)

If you had to pick one book to define your life, what would it be?

What sound do you hate the most?

What is your favourite place in your house, and why?

What’s the one thing you’d do to bring about happiness on earth?

If you had a choice between going to the bottom of the ocean or into outer space, which would you choose and why? (You have to pick one. No cheatsies).

Name a movie you love that you think isn’t appreciated enough by the world in general, and explain why you love it.

If there was a way to find out the day you were going to die, would you do it? Why?

If I said the word ‘kjevtiske’* to you, what would you think it meant and why?

 

*To the best of my knowledge, this is a word I’ve just made up. I’m interested to see what the sound of it brings to mind for other people, though.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Showered with Liebster-ness

  1. Pingback: Question Time | Will Wally Wonder

Talk to me

