Books

Upper Middle Grade Books (Readers 8+)

SKYBORN

Longlisted for the Shropshire Bookfest Big Book Award 2022

SKYBORN, published by Little Tiger Press, 2021. Cover artist: Sara Mulvanny. Cover designer: Sophie Bransby

It’s rare, my friends, to come across a talent so incandescent as the one you’re about to see. You think you’ve seen performers in the air? You think you’ve seen artists on the trapeze? Prepare yourselves for skill beyond compare. Without further ado, I present to you the young man known only as… The Skyborn Boy!

The circus has seen better days, but for Bastjan it’s home. He will do anything he can to save it, even if it means participating in a death-defying new act. But when that fails to draw in the crowds, the ringmaster makes a deal with a mysterious man by the name of Dr Bauer.

In exchange for his help, Bauer wants a box that belonged to Bastjan’s mother and came from her birthplace – the faraway island of Melita. Bastjan is desperate to keep his only memento of his mother out of Bauer’s hands. And as he uncovers more about the strange objects contained within, he realizes it’s not only the circus that’s in terrible danger…

SKYBORN is available with a signed bookplate (for a limited time) via The Rocketship Bookshop (UK) or Halfway Up the Stairs bookshop (Ireland)

Skyborn is also available via:

Waterstones

Blackwells Books

Easons

Dubray Books

The Gutter Bookshop

The Campus Bookshop

Or, of course, through your favourite local bookshop or online retailer.

THE STAR-SPUN WEB

Blackwell’s Children’s Book of the Month (February 2019)

A Books For Topics Book of the Month (February 2019)

Longlisted for the UK Literacy Association (UKLA) Book Award 2020

Nominated for the Cartwheel Book Prize 2021

Shortlisted for the KPMG Children’s Books Ireland Award 2020

The Star-Spun Web Front Cover
Front cover of The Star-Spun Web, art by Sara Mulvanny, designed by Sophie Bransby, published by Stripes Books February 2019.

Tess de Sousa has lived all her life in the confines of Ackerbee’s Home for Lost and Foundlings, knowing nothing about her origins. That is, until the day a mysterious man named Norton F. Cleat comes calling, seeking to take her away from everyone and everything she knows and loves. Instead of fleeing from Cleat, however, Tess decides to go with him; she wants to get to the bottom of why he chose her, of all orphans, to claim as his own. Does he know something about her parents? And what is his interest in the inexplicable object Tess is given the day she leaves Ackerbee’s – an object, she learns, which arrived with her the night she was found on the Home’s front step? What unfolds is a story of family lost and found, choices which ripple in unexpected and unimaginable ways, and a girl who finds herself caught between two worlds with war on the horizon…

The Star-Spun Web is available via:

Waterstones

Hive

WH Smith

Blackwells Books

Easons

Or, of course, through your local bookshop or your favourite online retailer.

THE EYE OF THE NORTH

Winner of the European Science Fiction Society Chrysalis Award 2018 (Ireland)

Sunday Times Children’s Book of the Week (February 2018)

Longlisted for the Northern Ireland Book Award (NIBA) 2019

Longlisted for the Dudley Children’s Book Award (2019)

Inaugural #PrimarySchoolBookClub Book of the Month (March 2018)

eye-front-cover
Cover image for THE EYE OF THE NORTH, US/Canada edition (Knopf BFYR, 2017), artist Jeff Nentrup.

Emmeline Widget has never left Widget Manor – and that’s the way she likes it. But when her scientist parents mysteriously disappear, she finds herself being packed off on a ship to France, heading for a safe house in Paris. Onboard she is befriended by an urchin stowaway called Thing. But before she can reach her destination she is kidnapped by the sinister Dr Siegfried Bauer.


Dr Bauer is bound for the ice fields of Greenland to summon a legendary monster from the deep. And he isn’t the only one determined to unleash the creature. The Northwitch has laid claim to the beast, too.


Can Emmeline and Thing stop their fiendish plans and save the world?
A dazzling fantasy adventure, perfect for fans of ROOFTOPPERS, THE UNCOMMONERS and A SERIES OF UNFORTUNATE EVENTS.

The Eye of the North is available via:

Waterstones

Hive

WH Smith

Easons

Blackwells Books

Or via your favourite bricks-and-mortar or online retailer.

THE EYE OF THE NORTH front cover, UK edition (Stripes Publishing, 2018), artist Sara Mulvanny, designer Sophie Bransby

Lower Middle Grade Books (Readers 5+)

THE RAVENS’ CALL

The cover of The Ravens’ Call, illustrated by Maria Brzozowska, photograph (c) Maria Brzozowska 2020

Alys is Apprentice Ravenkeeper, living near the Rookery Tower with her father. When Alys’s ravens begin to turn white, she knows they’re trying to tell her something important – the kingdom must be in danger. Can she reach the King in time to pass on the warning in the Ravens’ Call?

A Lime Plus Banded Reader from Harper Collins Children’s Books, as part of their Big Cat reading series, The Ravens’ Call was published in January 2021. Its beautiful cover illustration, and illustrations throughout, are by Maria Brzozowska.

Click HERE to access the Harper Collins website to learn more about The Ravens’ Call and/or to purchase it. It’s also available via Waterstones, or any book retail outlet of your choice.

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Books

  1. Pingback: One Girl Went to Mo, Went to NaNoWriMo… | SJ O'Hart

  2. Pingback: The Eye of the North Comes Home | SJ O'Hart

  3. Pingback: The Eye of the North Book Launch | SJ O'Hart

  4. Pingback: What I’ve Been Up To | SJ O'Hart

Talk to me

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s