Books

 

THE EYE OF THE NORTH

Emmeline Widget has never left Widget Manor – and that’s the way she likes it. But when her scientist parents mysteriously disappear, she finds herself being packed off on a ship to France, heading for a safe house in Paris. Onboard she is befriended by an urchin stowaway called Thing. But before she can reach her destination she is kidnapped by the sinister Dr Siegfried Bauer.
Dr Bauer is bound for the ice fields of Greenland to summon a legendary monster from the deep. And he isn’t the only one determined to unleash the creature. The Northwitch has laid claim to the beast, too.
Can Emmeline and Thing stop their fiendish plans and save the world?
A dazzling fantasy adventure, perfect for fans of ROOFTOPPERS, THE UNCOMMONERS and A SERIES OF UNFORTUNATE EVENTS.

eye-front-cover

Cover image for THE EYE OF THE NORTH, US/Canada edition (Knopf BFYR, 2017), artist Jeff Nentrup.

 

THE EYE OF THE NORTH, my début novel for Middle Grade readers (and everyone else!), is published by Knopf Books for Young Readers/Random House Children’s Books in the United States and Canada and in most other places by Stripes Publishing/Little Tiger Books. The incredible cover art for the US edition was created by Jeff Nentrup, and the equally incredible UK cover was designed by Sophie Bransby and drawn by Sara Mulvanny.

EOTN_UK_FrontCover

THE EYE OF THE NORTH front cover, UK edition (Stripes Publishing, 2018), artist Sara Mulvanny, designer Sophie Bransby

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

To get your own copy of THE EYE OF THE NORTH: please do consider asking your local bookshop/bookstore to order you one. Here’s a handy link for you to use if you want to check out where your local bookshop is (in the UK and Ireland).

THE EYE OF THE NORTH (Stripes Publishing) is available online from:

Easons

Hodges Figgis

The Book Centre

Dubray Books

O’Mahony Books

Hive.co.uk

Wordery

Waterstones

In North America you can support your local bookstore: Indiebound.

If you prefer to shop online,  you can find THE EYE OF THE NORTH (US/Knopf BFYR edition) at:

Target

Indigo.ca

Amazon

Books-A-Million

Powells

As well as all that, you can support me by adding THE EYE OF THE NORTH to your Goodreads shelf (and/or you can follow me there, if you like):

The Eye of the North

 

What People Are Saying

“Lovely writing and a fertile imagination in a unique setting make this a truly enjoyable read.” – Nigel Quinlan (@Nigellicus), via Goodreads

“This book is pure middle-grade gold, pitched perfectly in tone at its audience. It is sure to be lapped up by boys and girls alike. This impressive debut is my first 5 star read of 2017. I hope it’s a huge hit. It certainly deserves to be!” – Kieran Fanning (@KieranJFanning), via Goodreads

 

BOOK TWO – TITLE TBA

Tess de Sousa has lived all her life in the comfortable – if somewhat stifling – confines of Ackerbee’s Home for Lost and Foundlings, knowing nothing about her origins. That is, until the day a mysterious man named Norton F. Cleat comes calling, seeking to take her away from everyone and everything she knows and loves. Instead of fleeing from Cleat, however, Tess decides to go with him; she wants to get to the bottom of why he chose her, of all orphans, to claim as his own. Does he know something about her parents? And what is his interest in the inexplicable object Tess is given the day she leaves Ackerbee’s – an object, she learns, which arrived with her the night she was found on the Home’s front step? What unfolds is a story of family lost and found, choices which ripple in unexpected and unimaginable ways, and a girl who finds herself caught between two worlds with war on the horizon.

THE LEAKY WITCH

In a world where magical powers are a hindrance rather than a help, Merritt Grimblethorpe is more hindered than most. Her power is ruining her life, she has no way of controlling it, and she has no future – so she runs away from home in an attempt to rid herself of her magic, only to find it grows in strength instead. As she attempts to find out why, she meets Saratine, another girl struggling with a different kind of power. When their kingdom is threatened, only Merritt and Saratine can save it – but first, they must face the frightening possibilities inside themselves.

TOP SECRET PROJECT

A book so secret, nobody knows about it yet… But it involves peril of the most mortal sort, family drama, a man with no face, and an adventure at the centre of the earth, so it’s probably worth staying tuned for.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Books

  1. Pingback: One Girl Went to Mo, Went to NaNoWriMo… | SJ O'Hart

  2. Pingback: The Eye of the North Comes Home | SJ O'Hart

  3. Pingback: The Eye of the North Book Launch | SJ O'Hart

Talk to me

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s